Arkansas Permanent Makeup License Requirements
Last Updated: May, 2017
The Arkansas Department of Health’s body art program regulates permanent makeup. In order to receive your cosmetic artist license you’ll need to:
- Complete a 6-24 month training program at a school approved by the Board of Private Career Education as a training facility.
- Complete at least 375 clock hours of supervised body art work and the artist/trainer shall maintain a log of the hours worked by the student.
- Complete a blood borne pathogens course of 2 hours minimum. You can take this with either the Red Cross, the National Safety Council or with a board approved online program.
- Pass a written and practical exam. You must pay $50 when submitting the exam application.
- Your trainer or school should contact the Department of Health to make an appointment for your exam.
- Be a high school graduate and provide high school diploma or GED.Provide results of an eye examination for color and normal vision and a health evaluation from your physician stating you are free of communicable disease including hepatitis, at the time of the written exam.
About the exam:
- All tests will be given at the Department of Health, 4815 West Markham in Little Rock, Environmental Health section, unless otherwise notified.
- Test time is 2:00 p.m. (NO EXCEPTIONS – If you arrive after 2:00 p.m. YOU WILL NOT BE TESTED)
- Two Passport size pictures which are required by the Board of Private Career Education for artist in training badges must be presented at the time of the exam.
Exam Dates 2017
TUESDAY – JANUARY 17th
TUESDAY – FEBRUARY 21st
TUESDAY – MARCH 21st
TUESDAY – APRIL 18th
TUESDAY – MAY 16th
TUESDAY – JUNE 20th
TUESDAY – JULY 18th
TUESDAY – AUGUST 15th
TUESDAY – SEPTEMBER 19th
TUESDAY – OCTOBER 17th
TUESDAY – NOVEMBER 21st
NO EXAMS WILL BE GIVEN IN DECEMBER
If you’d like to open your own permanent makeup facility, Act 266 of 2003 requires a $150 annual shop fee which expires on December 31st of each year. It also requires a $100.00 annual artist fee. Both fees are due by March 1st .
If you have any questions concerning approved training establishments contact the Board of Private Career Education at 501-683-8000.
submit hours of practice 375, shops you’ve been at, license from your state. $500 review with the dept of health and higher education