Nebraska Permanent Makeup License Requirements
The Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services regulates permanent cosmetics as body art and issues licenses to practitioners and establishments.
In order to be able to apply for a practitioner license you must:
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Have a high school diploma or General Education Development Certificate (GED); and
- Have completed at least 4 hours of training within 3 years immediately prior to making application for a license as a body artist. Such training must include:
- At least 2 hours of Bloodborne Pathogens (disease) training, which includes sanitation, infection control and sterilization. An examination is required as a condition of training completion.
- A basic first aid class which teaches participants how to:
- Recognize emergency situations
- Check the scene and call for help
- Avoid bloodborne pathogen exposure
- Care for wounds
- Manage sudden illneesses; and
- Minimize shock
The training may be obtained through any of the following:
- Nationally accredited organization;
- Local government sponsored;
- Hospital sponsored;
- College sponsored;
- OSHA (Occupation and Safety Hazards Act) sponsored; or
- Red Cross
Find the application for practitioners here.
Find the application for establishments here.
Last updated: May, 2017